Between Camogli and Portofino, in a deep bay in the jagged coast of the Portofino promontory, stands the famous Abbey of San Fruttuoso of Capodimonte, the intact fishing village of the same name. After the first monastic attendance, the complex of San Fruttuoso di Capodimonte was humble home for fishermen, often the haunt of pirates, then owned by the Doria Principles centuries: an absolutely unique place where man’s work was successfully integrated with that of nature. They can visit the monastic complex of the X-XI century with the Cloister, the Chapter House, the Church; and the tombs of the Doria and the gothic sea body of the thirteenth century.
The Abbey of San Fruttuoso – or, more correctly, Abbey of San Fruttuoso of Capodimonte – is an ancient monastery located in the San Fruttuoso bay in the town of Camogli, near Genoa.
It situated in the terrestrial and marine park of Portofino. Since 1983 he is part of the architectural heritage of the Fund for the Italian environment, thanks to the donation of the owners. In its bay it is located the famous statue of Christ of the Abyss, placed on the seabed in 1954 and restored in the late nineties.
It is accessible from any thoroughfare but there can only be accessed by boat or along a steep trail that descends from above Portofino overlooking the Paradise Gulf. Near the abbey is a bathing beach with a free part and a beach, bars and eateries for tourists. In the abbey there are periodic concerts of classical music and light music.